Movie #2: I, Frankenstein

i-frankenstein-poster

 

I really need to stop procrastinating on posting… So yes, hello! I am still alive! I have just been eaten up by fandom stuff lately and so this blog has gotten kind of ignored. Still, though, I haven’t forgotten about my 14 movies, 14 books for 2014 thing and so now this entry has come to be.

So. I, Frankenstein. Admittedly, this is the kind of movie that I’m such a guilty sucker for: lots of supernatural elements alongside tons of special effects and eye-catching cinematography. I love my monsters, my vampires, my werewolves, and I suppose Frankenstein’s monster can now be a part of that group too because I kind of enjoyed this movie. Admittedly, it’s not one of those movies that will stick to me, definitely not one that I could say has carved a place in my personal canon of well-loved films. I don’t think I’ll even purposely watch it again unless there’s nothing else better to watch but it’s an enjoyable enough diversion for an hour and a half.

It’s made by the people who produced Underworld and I kind of had an inkling of that before I even saw the poster or the credits. There’s just signs of it everywhere: the subject matter,  the distinctive style of cinematography, the look and feel of the characters. Heck, Bill Nighy was there along with Kevin Grevioux who were both part of the Underworld franchise. And if you’ve seen Underworld then I think you can pretty much expect the same kind of stuff from I, Frankenstein though you’ve got demons, gargoyles and Adam a.k.a. Frankenstein’s monster instead of vampires and werewolves. What kind of disappoints me about both Underworld and I, Frankenstein is while they are both so stylishly made, there’s just something lacking story-wise. They’ve got all these interesting twists on existing mythology, these badass characters but then somehow the stories just don’t reach their full potential for me and it’s kind of sad.

But then I guess sometimes you just want to see Aaron Eckhart shirtless (still kind of gorgeous despite the scowls, stitches and shadows) and some badass demon ass-kicking and if that’s what you’re after then I guess this movie’s not bad at all in those cases.

2 thoughts on “Movie #2: I, Frankenstein

  1. I like my action movies to be action orientated which is why I enjoyed Underworld and the Resident Evil movies. The stories were good enough to keep your interest – but not fine cinima that is for sure. I think I’ll go take a look at I Frankenstein. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

