Blame It On the Radio

I was sitting in a car earlier this afternoon and then something being said on the radio got my attention. There was a game going on and what the contestant had to do was guess the name of the songs being played. The DJ asked the contestant what kind of songs he wanted to guess, those in the regular programming or those being played on Saturdays, which are usually old songs and the like. The contestant chose the Saturday playlist (the DJ even joked that they would play songs that correspond to his age) and it blew my mind when they played the songs. Sukiyaki by 4PM, Shy Guy by Diana King– Has it really been that long since those songs were out? Honestly, I was surprised. The contestant and I were around the same age. It was just mind boggling.

I guess I’ll always be kind of in denial about how old these songs really are now because they’re signs of how I have also aged. Sure, I’m not yet that old but I’m old enough to have most of my favorite songs be on weekend radio playlists. It’s not really sad, just kind of weird sometimes because I can still remember so clearly how I listened to the radio all the time before to wait for my favorite songs to air.

Yeah and that just gives you another idea of how long ago that was! Do young people still listen to the radio and wait for songs? I don’t know. With iPods and everything, you can just pull up whatever playlist or song you want to listen to so easily. No more waiting or anything. Very convenient but it lacks a certain sense of nostalgia, I think.

Leave a Reply

