A Relevant Question Gets an Awesome Answer

Earlier this morning, I was asking myself,

“What could I actually do to help?”

The situation down in Tacloban has gotten really bad and I really, really just wanted to do something, to help out in any way that I can. Many avenues have opened up in the past days. There are so many ways to reach out and help and organizations have become more and more creative with how they plan to contribute in their own way. My favorite was how the local food community is going to support the Red Cross where you pretty much get to stuff your face for a cause, haha. I’ll probably find myself in at least one of the places involved in this this weekend but aside from that, I wanted to do more.

I don’t really have enough funds to give a sizable monetary donation though that is the easiest route and reposting information for donations and such just doesn’t seem enough. I really wanted to do donations the old fashioned way: gathering old clothes and other necessities and taking them somewhere they are being gathered to then be distributed to the people who need them. Doing this used to be easier since I only had to take my donations to school and the school would take care of everything else. I actually live very near my old schools so it would be easy enough to drop off donations. I was planning to head on off to one of them today to ask for information on how to go about it, but then I opened my Facebook earlier this morning and found a very interesting post in my high school batch’s group page.

It was a call for us to come together and do something for the victims of Typhoon Yolanda.

Twenty hours and some comments later and it looks like this is really going to happen. My high school batch is going to be uniting to help out and it just gives me the happiest feeling somehow.

It’s just somehow easier to do something like this as a group, especially with friends. You toss around ideas and get excited and start working together. I really do hope this pushes through because it’s just nice to do something helpful for others while doing it with other people who want to help out too.

I’ll keep you guys posted. 🙂

Meanwhile, if you’re looking to help the Typhoon Yolanda victims, lists of organizations you can contact can be found here and here

Leave a Reply

