The Smallness

I was asked during my job interview,

“Why do you want this job?”

It was a job interview so of course I made sure to give a good, eloquent answer. I forgot what it was I said exactly but somewhere around admitting that I wanted a less stressful working environment, I also said,

“I want to do something that isn’t just about making money.”

Which I think I really managed to get in this job that I could not be more grateful for. Sure, the work can be often tedious and boring at the same time, and there are times when you get caught up in the monotony of it all that you can get kind of frustrated, but there are moments when you are reminded of how there is more to it than that.

How what little work I do within the confines of my little office actually contributes to a bigger picture, a movement that actually works toward a greater good.

And I shouldn’t forget that and get lost in the little mundane tasks that could distract me with their seeming smallness and insignificance.

I’m in a good place with good people and I am doing good for others, no matter how small, and I should never lose sight of that.

3 thoughts on “The Smallness

  1. It’s interesting that you said that because ultimately that is what everyone wants. Some meaningful livelihood. If I may ask, what kind of job did you apply for?

    • I applied for a secretarial job. Admin work can be so mind-numbing and repetitive but I work for a group of missionaries and I have seen the things they’ve done to uphold their mission. So through what little I do, I’m able to help send these missionaries to do their work. It’s kind of humbling when you think about it like that.

Leave a Reply

