After 10 Years…

A long time ago, back in 2002, I made myself a Fanfiction.Net account and it’s like a new world opened up to me. Even before that, I was unknowingly making fanfiction, writing them down in notebooks and journals and actually filling up a couple. Getting my fanfiction published online was exciting and fun and I got to meet new people and participate in fandom in a way that I never thought possible.

A decade and a bit later, here I am again, contemplating to try and write and publish fanfiction again; I am excited and intimidated as well as terrified. It’s just been so long and so far, what I’m coming up with is a bunch of crap. I’m always plagued with how I may never finish and people may not like what I write and it’s just very, very frustrating on top of the fact that I feel like nothing I write is good enough. But I’m still trying and I’m trying to psyche myself up. Of course everything’s going to suck. You haven’t tried writing creatively in forever, never mind attempting to write so many things all at once which is really what I have planned. Perhaps stupidly so, but I want to do so many things and if I don’t try and do them, when will I? So here is me trying and hoping with all my might that I’ll actually get things done.

I’ve tried to start up writing fanfiction again before but it never worked. Probably because I had no one who was watching but myself. Now I have support in the way of one of my friends and I’m hoping that her watching over my progress would be the boost that I need.

…I have been staring at the screen for five minutes and it’s 11:30pm here. I think it’s time for bed, haha. There will be time to write more tomorrow.

Leave a comment