Effects of the Media Club

My laptop got infected by a virus, and I was scrambling around trying to look for a way to back up my files because as my luck would have it, even my external hard drive got infected. I considered using Google Drive and I already uploaded some files into it. I finally hit on the idea of burning stuff into DVDs on the way to work earlier today, so I decided that I would be getting blank DVDs on the way home later.

There was a National Bookstore on the way home, so it was easy enough to drop in for a quick shopping trip. I got my blank DVDs, and I also got a blue gel pen because I needed one for work. That was all I needed, but of course, since I was already in the bookstore, I decided to browse around a little. In the end, I left the store with four blank DVDs, a blue gel pen, three comic books and one book.

I suppose it wouldn’t have been anything new for me, coming out of a bookstore with more purchases than I planned to get. What was new, though, was the kind of stuff I bought. I got three different Black Ink comics, namely Pepe: the Lost Years of RizalThe Reaper and Vergil: the Warrior Angel, and a book by Alan Navarra entitled Dumot. I got the comics because I got curious about the stories of each comic as they dealt with the supernatural and because each cost a very affordable P69.75. The book was a bit more pricey at P200, but again, I was curious. The blurb at the back was intriguing and the cover had a unique design. And what was “dumot” anyway? As I was standing in line to pay for everything, I knew that at any other time, I would most probably not have bothered with the comics and the book. I was still keeping careful control of my finances and I haven’t been a comic-reading person in a very long time. Admittedly, the price was a factor, but at the same time, I guess I could say that I have become more open to trying things that were different from my usual diversions of choice.

The Media Club has been going on for a while now and I like to think that it has broadened my horizons and made me more curious about what’s out there and open to trying different things. At the same time, with the club involving other people, it’s much easier to share experiences and thoughts which don’t come as easily when you experience something by yourself and just write about it on your blog like I tend to do when I can. Maybe I’ll share some of these discoveries when it’s my turn to bring up something for the club.

Let’s keep it up, guys. I think our Media Club is really doing something good for us. 😀

One thought on “Effects of the Media Club

Leave a Reply

