That Sorta Typical New Year’s Post

It’s a typical blog post at the start of the year to recount the last year and to look forward to the new year, so I’m jumping in and joining the bandwagon even if it’s a little late. I was actually supposed to have an entry like this way before now but you know how it is during the holidays. You kind of forget even more what the word “productive” actually means. But I was prompted by someone just now and so you finally get this post.

Highlights of 2012

  1. All the traveling. I got to go to Hong Kong, Baguio and Singapore last year. Sure, Baguio isn’t exactly that exotic since it’s just somewhere north of Manila, but I loved being there anyways. The cooler weather made the difference and so did the sights. Meanwhile, Hong Kong was my first ever international trip since I was diagnosed with MCTD and it went pretty well. Singapore was the first international trip ever with Noel, so it was special too. Last year was certainly a great year for travel, that’s for sure.
  2. Improved health. As mentioned, I was able to travel overseas and that would not have been possible without better health. I was able to walk long distances and withstand extreme weather and crowds. This absolutely helps too with the next item.
  3. Got myself a new job. Good health is definitely essential in doing regular work. I found work as an Office Manager of a Korean online English school and it can be pretty physically, mentally and psychologically trying at times. I’m glad to be having a regular job after two years of not having one, though, so that’s something. However, as I mentioned and have blogged about before, it can be physically, mentally and psychologically taxing. Plus the salary is a bit low. It’s still a job, though. (Monday, must you come so soon?)
  4. New blogs! I joined WordPress this year and started up two blogs, this one and Takaw Mode. I’m obviously still very bad at updating regularly, but they’re there now and they’re helping me express myself in ways that I haven’t in a very, very long time. It’s nice to be blogging again.
  5. NaBloPoMo. And speaking of blogging, I joined, along with numerous other bloggers, National Blog Posting Month  last November. I posted almost everyday for a month. It was hard and exhilarating and a lot of fun. I’ll go ahead and do that again this year.
  6. Media Club. It was an idea borne out of wanting to stay connected with a couple of friends and I’m so happy how it has not only kept us in touch, but also had us get to know each other more through exploring each other’s taste in all sorts of things. The conversations here got really in depth both personally and intellectually. I look forward to more meetings, guys.
  7. Rekindling and renewing friendships. The Media Club had made it easier for me to keep in touch with RL friends that I hardly ever saw. And I was also able to get in touch with friends that I thought I had lost before. It was fun getting to know people all over again and spending time with them, whether it be through chatting or meet ups.
  8. Fandom. The Avengers really did a number on fandom and I found myself getting caught up with the hype. Chris Evans’ Captain America certainly helped, hahaha. Then there were also these great shows like Game of Thrones and The Borgias. Older shows like Supernatural, Bigh Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother were still being awesome, too. There were just a lot to watch and new fanfiction to read and new characters to swoon over. 2012 was an awesome year for fandoms, definitely.
  9. QWERTEE. Qwertee is out to get my money, seriously. I ordered two shirts from them last year and barely stopped myself from getting another one just before Christmas. I don’t doubt that I will succumb to a new shirt design eventually. I’ll get my bank account ready for that.
  10. HER. She made me laugh. She made me cry. She made me feel happy, but also like I’m a terrible person. All at once.

Resolutions for 2013

  1. Travel more. Because why not? Admittedly, budget is a bit tight right now, but if I want to go back to Baguio, I’ll find a way. ‘Got to start saving up!
  2. Write more. There’s this writing contest that a friend told me about. I also owe that friend a fanfic. I have so many things that I want to write.  I have to stop thinking about how and when and just start writing.
  3. Watch more movies, read more books, etc. Get doused in culture along the way if it’s possible. Enrich my life with art while I also try and attempt to make art myself. These things are one source of inspiration.
  4. Spend less time online. Hahahaha. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Aaaah, but I should try. Too much time online is killing my productivity and social skills, I swear. Definitely a must do.
  5. Develop better sleeping and eating habits. I think, if I didn’t sleep late and didn’t eat as much junk, I would be so damned healthy right now, I will be able to do all the things that I want to do. This is a definite must do too.
  6. Learn something new. Last year, I learned a lot more about the financial side of things when it comes to running a company. Also the legalities involved in it. I wonder what I’d learn this year.
  7. Be more active about finding what I want to do with my life and myself. I’ve gotta stop being passive. ‘Must be more participative. It would be painful (painfully painful? Painfully awkward? Both?), but it must be done. Why am I here? What do I really want to do? I’d love to know soon.
  8. Find a new job. Because I’m learning a lot and they love me there, but I’m not content, much less happy with what I’m doing there. Must find a way to move on.
  9. Choose to be happy. Too often, I get caught being sad and I’m starting to think I like being unhappy, which isn’t good, really. Sadness and depression may make you feel alive because you feel something, it’s better than being numb, but then it can get you six feet under much faster, I think.
  10. Let go. Let go of negativity, of sadness, of things not worth wasting time on. Sometimes, too, some people just aren’t worth keeping around if they do hardly anything else but pull you down. I hope I find the strength to be able to let go.

2 thoughts on “That Sorta Typical New Year’s Post

Leave a comment