Am I Up to the (Blogging) Challenge?

Remember that entry where I said I was going to be joining NaNoWriMo? Yeah, that’s… Not really going to happen. Because I’m a spaz who let Real Life get away with tugging her around and thus no decent preparations were made for NaNoWriMo. I mean, admittedly, I pretty much used to just go gung-ho on writing. I just go ahead and sit down a write, not thinking about outlines and stuff. But for something as intense and focused as NaNoWriMo is supposed to be? I don’t think that technique’s going to be possible. So maybe next year.

I swear, I felt a bit down about it. After psyching myself up for it so much, I ended up not doing it anyway. I think I had a lot riding on joining NaNoWriMo this year. It wasn’t just about having fun writing until I gave out. It was supposed to be something for me to do. Something new, something exciting. And I wanted NaNoWriMo merch because they looked so cool! But alas. Again, maybe next year.

And then I discovered NaBloPoMo.

I think the concept behind NaBloPoMo aka National Blog Posting Month is related to NaNoWriMo except that it’s for blogging. Basically, you need to post on your blog everyday for the whole month of November. That’s it. It sounds easy, definitely easier than churning out 50,000 words for a novel within a month. Or at least maybe a lot of people may think so. How hard is it to type down some words? Post a picture and write about it? It’s your blog. There’s not even a rule on content. You just have to blog everyday for the whole of November. And I tell you, the idea of blogging everyday if you’re not used to it is daunting. But I am still one of those people who think blogging an entry everyday is easier than coming up with 50,000 words for a whole month, so I signed up.

Prepare to be bombarded with my thoughts and ramblings for the next  month, guys. I really plan to see this through. Wish me luck. I’ll try to make it as painless as I can for both of us.

Leave a Reply

