Unfinished Books

Seriously, I think I have ADD when it comes to books. I was looking at my Kindle yesterday, because I was preparing for a road trip with the family when I realized that I’ve got a couple of books I have yet to finish reading. That’s another thing with the Kindle. Yes, it makes bringing around books much easier, but then it also makes it more convenient to start with another book while you’re in the middle of reading one. I just get so bored with just reading one book at a time nowadays. I just don’t seem to have the patience anymore to just sit down and focus on one. I don’t know why, but that’s it.

My friend, Elaine, and I have been thinking about starting a book club the other day when of course my focus shifted to books and I suddenly remembered all the books that I have yet to finish reading. So I thought I’d make an organized list to remind myself.

LIST OF BOOKS THAT CRISSY HAS YET TO FINISH

1. George R. R. Martin’s A Storm of Swords

Okay, I admit I have also still yet to finish reading A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings, but it’s hard when you’ve already seen the first two seasons of Game of Thrones! I don’t know how people can read and watch alongside each other for this series! I just can’t imagine doing it! So before the third season goes on air next year, I endeavor to somehow finish this book. I have a lot of time. I keep saying that. It’s a curse. I say that and the next thing I know it’s the start of the third season already. 😐

2. Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Prince

Yeah, Cassandra Clare as in the controversial-Harry-Potter-fanfiction-writer Cassandra Clare. At first I was really hesitant to pick up the first book in the series, Clockwork Angel, but then I was on a steam punk curiosity binge and decided to give it a go. I ended up liking it so I started with the second book. I have yet to go far, though. And the covers are pretty. :3 I wish I could get the real books, but alas.

3. William Makepeace Thackeray’s Vanity Fair

Why am I reading this? I’m not usually one for classics like this, especially after the special brand of torture that I experienced through having to plod through Sense and Sensibility in college and other such readings in high school. Well, it’s set in 19th Century England, which was an era that I’ve always been interested in. Plus I’ve seen the movie starring Reese Witherspoon so I thought, “Why not read the novel?” It’s… Easier to read than Austen, which is good enough for me. And Becky Sharp is a bitch, but I can’t help but love her. And in relation to this, I also have…

4. Daniel Pool’s What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew: From Fox Hunting to Whist–the Facts of Daily Life in 19th Century England

I’m a bit of a history geek (and a Hetalia fan) so I find these kind of books interesting at times. Books like this can be a bit boring, though, so I don’t really try to read everything all at once. But yes, this book is awesome and I’ve learned some pretty cool, but useless things, hahaha.

5. David Cordingly’s Under the Black Flag: the Romance and Reality of Life Among Pirates

Because pirates!!! And it was on sale and the cover is cool! Yes, the last two books aren’t Kindle editions but actual books. And I love them both to bits though I have a hard time reading them in one sitting.

6. Niccolo Machiavelli’s The Prince

Another actual book that I have yet to finish reading. I saw this in Powerbooks ages ago and I thought I’d get it because I was curious and it was cheap. It was one of those sales, I think, and I bought this along with some Shakespearean plays. My friend Elaine also recommended the book to me before, so I thought I’d get it. It’s been a long time since I’ve started reading to then consequently abandon this book. Due to an interest on the series The Borgias, however, I find myself wanting to read it again. Maybe it’ll be more exciting to read as I picture Francois Arnaud as The Prince aka Cesare Borgia.

7. Christopher Hibbert’s The Borgias

Of course, there’s this. I also have an Alexandre Dumas account on the Borgia family, but I think that’ll be harder to read. I thought I’d give this a try first. I feel like I need to take notes while I read this book, just so many dates and people to remember.

8. Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief

It’s not exactly a happy book, considering that it’s set during World War II in Germany, but I think it deserves the raves and good reviews it received. It’s probably the subject matter that makes it hard for me to read it continuously. It’s not light reading, that’s for sure.

9. Seth Grahame-Smith’s Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Because I’m a nut who likes to cross her historical fiction with horror elements like this. I was really excited to see the movie for this, but unfortunately I wasn’t able to. I actually can’t remember if I started reading the book, but I do have it. It’s all just a matter of sitting down and reading through it, though I have a feeling I’ll be reading this for a while yet.

It seems to be book sale season again and while I may have been holding back on buying books recently, who knows what will happen when I’m faced with on-sale books once I step into book stores. I have been eyeing some books in the Filipiniana section recently and those books are hard to find online. Award-winning authors like Nick Joaquin and Ambeth Ocampo and the newbreed authors like Eros S. Atalia, Bob Ong and others, for example, so I don’t know. Maybe this list will grow and really, I know I’ve forgotten other books I’ve read and not finished.

Oh well. I guess we’ll just see how things go.

3 thoughts on “Unfinished Books

  1. Hi Crissy! I have a Kindle too, and trust me, I always get tempted to read another book when I’m in the middle of reading one. I know how you feel! haha You should really finish these though. 😉

    I’m currently reading The Great Gatsby. What about you?

    xox
    Mariel

    • Hi Mariel! And I knooooow, but it’s so hard when it’s so easy to switch from one book to another, haha. How are you?

      And I have been wanting to read The Great Gatsby too since I saw the trailer for the movie. Is it good?

      Is it okay if I post your tumblr link in my blog? I always forget my friend’s blog links so I do that to easily keep track of everyone. I hope you don’t mind. 🙂

      • I’m good, thanks. And you? Have you heard about the new Kindle that Amazon is supposed to launch this year? It supposedly has a front-lit screen, just like the Nook Glow. I’m thinking of getting it because my Kindle Keyboard has been acting up for months now. I’m actually very attached to my Kindle, but I just got to let it go. haha Which Kindle do you own?

        I just started reading Chapter 2 of Gatsby and I’m liking it so far. You should definitely read it.

        Go ahead, you can post my tumblr link. I actually have a blog, but I got too lazy to update it. I still love to visit friends’ blogs though. Okay, I should stop blabbering. hahaha

Leave a Reply

