Baguio – June 22-25, 2012 [Day 1]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Just came back from Baguio yesterday. I like to write diaries of my thoughts and experiences whenever I go somewhere for vacation, etc. so these entries were written while I was still there.)

– I hate waking up so early, but it seemed I don’t have a choice. Mom decided to take the regular bus to Baguio since it left earlier than the bus that didn’t make stops. I had to get up at 4am. That wasn’t fun, but it had to be done.

– I had an inner debate with the Steve Rogers in my head about bringing my laptop along. He was all, “You’re going on vacation. What would you need that computer for? Go out and take a walk–/old man nagging forever~” I think a Tony Stark appeared there for a minute to agree with him. He even had a martini glass. SO CLASSY. To then demand why I didn’t have a tablet LIKE A PERSON WHO’S NOT A CAPSICLE. He even flashed me the latest Stark tablet. If only Stark tablets actually existed. .__. Of course I ended up bringing my laptop along.

– We were able to get on the bus with time to spare despite leaving the house very late. That’s Filipino Time for you, haha.

– Watched John Carter on the bus. It was pretty cool what they did about Mars, I mean Barsoom, and everything. Not bad for a sci-fi flick. Plus the heroine’s hot, lol. The second movie, The Wrath of the Titans, didn’t interest me much so I took a nap.

– The view from the bus once we got on the last leg of the trip (6 hours on a bus…) was amazing. Who knew mountains could be so awe-inspiring?

– The weather in Baguio is niiiiice. Despite the fact that it’s sunny, it’s not blistering hot unlike in Manila. It’s even better at night where I actually had to wear a jacket and a scarf, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

– Had lunch at one of the publicized food places as a must-eat at Baguio: Te Quiero Tapas Bar and Restaurant. I think they only wrote about it in that write up because they were promoting Victory Liner, whose drop off station is just across it. I had a Spanish Tortilla with a glass of wine. Saucy, haha. It was yummy! Mama had chocolate mousse and coffee because she ate in the bus. The place itself had a nice ambience. It could be an ideal place for a date. I found it funny that I had to go to Baguio to have tapas when there’s Barcino in Makati. But then again, Barcino is probably pricier. We didn’t spend as much as we could have, but it’s probably due to the fact that the restaurant didn’t use an AC. I observed later on that not a lot of establishments in Baguio used an AC.

– We stayed at the new Le Monet hotel in Camp John Hay. The rooms are pretty. The beds are big and comfy.The design reminded me so much of Novotel back in Hong Kong for some reason. The Internet kind of sucks, but I guess you can’t complain about that when it’s complimentary. I’ll tell you about the buffet breakfast tomorrow.

– We still had some time before dinner so Mama dragged me off to The Manor, the hotel which people actually think of when they think of Camp John Hay. I love the place. The grounds are so well maintained. Again, the place doesn’t seem to be using any ACs. We had dinner there (Brocolli soup with cream, Manor Club Sandwich and Blueberry Cheesecake) and enjoyed the place. We took a lot of pictures because really, the place is just so beautiful. We especially enjoyed it when the fog started to come down and it was starting to get really cold. We actually rushed out to take pictures with the fog. People probably thought we were crazy, lol.

– It was already dark by the time we headed home. We were supposed to go to the Filling Station, this place where you can buy souvenirs and more food, but the way was too dark. For some reason, they don’t have any lights along the road. We decided not to continue. It didn’t seem to be a good idea to wander around in the dark like that. It’s really cold by then, though, but I loved it. Why can’t the weather in Manila be like this?

Leave a Reply

