Another thing to hate this summer for

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The slideshow up there shows scenes from what could possibly be a post-apocalyptic-themed movie, but no, this is real life. This is the backdrop of Summer 2012 for me when the government decided to dig up and destroy the road in front of our house. You’ll find similar scenes all across Manila. This probably happens every summer as politicians take advantage of less traffic due to the schools being out to make their “improvements” on the roads and whatever else, but we’ve never really had our whole road dug up like this.

It’s annoying! I walk back and forth over this rough, holed up road and it’s made worse by the awful heat. It also feels like I went back a few centuries. I couldn’t help thinking, as I stepped and climbed over uneven debris, cement and gravel, little bits of it getting into my walking shoes, “My goodness, this must be what my grandparents felt like when their roads still sucked.” It’s not fun, not fun at all. And they say it’d be months before the road is back to normal. MONTHS. You can just imagine how much worse this would get once it starts to rain. They better finish all that before typhoon season starts or it’s just going to suck even worse and a lot of people will be pissed.

5 thoughts on “Another thing to hate this summer for

  1. Leo Vicente Villa says:

    I went to my Aunt’s place in Cainta and there is serious re-blocking on Camp Aguinaldo (on Boni Serrano). The good news is that road work along Marcos Highway is done. Another Aunt commented how the travel time had been cut by 30 mins. Let’s just hope the roadwork wraps up elsewhere in the Metro

    • I hope so too! It’s just so inconvenient for everyone, I think. It’s not just with getting around, but the noise and the pollution from the construction.

  2. Hi there! I found your blog in one of my blog hopping escapades πŸ™‚ I think we are in the same boat. It’s exactly the same picture in our place. But despite its annoying effect to everyone, I find it funny that whenever I walk with my neighbors, everyone is like cursing and complaining in harmony. πŸ˜€

    • Hello and thanks for reading! πŸ˜€ It can be quite funny in that sense, it’s true. It’s also interesting how this situation actually makes the community come together in ways that they never have before. But still, it would be nice when the roads get fixed.

Leave a Reply

